Jimmy “June” Bess & The Gospel Revelation A few years ago we received a CD from Jimmy “June” Bess & The Gospel Revelation titled Walk With Me Lord. At that time, we knew this group had a sound that would capture the attention of quartet gospel fans.

Now the group has a few new members and a new project. The new CD is titled Get Ready. The current lineup consists of Jimmy “June” Bess, Sonny Thompson, Johnnie McElveen, Williams McElveen and Alton Kelly. The members have been involved in gospel music for many years. They were members of other groups. Several left gospel music for a while. They have returned with vitality second to none to proclaim the good news in song.

The new project, like Walk With Me Lord, was produced by Johnnie McElveen. He is also credited with playing all the instruments on the project.

There are some good songs on the new CD. One of note is “If You Know Jesus.” What makes this song a ‘must hear’ is the added vocals of Pastor Curtis Young. Many will remember Pastor Young from his days with The Five Singing Sons of North. Who can forget their rendition of “Resting Beyond The Sky?”

Jimmy “June” Bess & The Gospel Revelation will be celebrating the release of their new CD on Saturday, May 8, 2010, at Macedonia Baptist Church in Darlington, SC. At that time, they will also be recording a video of their performance. If the video is as good as the CD, it should certainly aid in elevating this group on the national stage.

Listen to songs from Get Ready on Gloryland Gospel Quartet Radio’s Quartet Mix beginning May 29, 2010.